ICA Awards


The Iowa Communication Association Citation Award

The Iowa Communication Association Citation Award is given each year to a recipient that has consistently demonstrated exceptional service to the communication and/or performing arts in Iowa over an extended period of time. It is the highest award the ICA can bestow.

2014 Melissa Beall University of Northern Iowa
2013 Susan Cantine-Maxson Cloud Community College and Brown Grand Theatre
2012 Dennis Doyle Central College
2011 Kim Powell Luther College
2010 David Wendt Keokuk High School
2009 Mary Gill Buena Vista University
2008 Alan Lerstrom Luther College
2007 Larry Brandstetter Red Oak Middle School, IAAE
2006 Mary Bozik University of Northern Iowa
2005 Ray Dearin Iowa State University
2004 Virginia G. Darby Wahlert High School
2003 Paul Kauffman Iowa State University
2002 Frederick Antczak University of Iowa
2001 Bette Brunsting Central College
2000 John Madsen Buena Vista University
1999 William Waack University of Northern Iowa
1998 Lauretta Stribling Loras Coll
1997 Francis Hedeman Dubuque Senior HS
1996 Marvin D. Jensen University of Northern Iowa
1995 Kathy Oakland Price Lab School
1994 No Award Given  
1993 Samuel Becker University of Iowa
1992 Donald Stribling Loras College
1991 Jon Hall University of Northern Iowa
1990 Douglas M. Trank University of Iowa
1989 David Kanellis West Waterloo HS
1988 Kenneth Butzier Northern University HS
1987 Leola B. Ham Dubuque Senior HS
1986 Hugh F. Seabury University of Iowa
1985 Vaughn Gayman Loras College
1984 Walter F. Stromer Cornell College
1983 Maurice Birdsall Central College
1982 Carol Hollingsworth Marshalltown HS
1981 Sybil Lamb Dubuque Senior HS
1980 Lillian Wagner University of Northern Iowa
1979 Bob Kemp University of Iowa
1978 James Weaver Iowa State University
1977 Merle Picht Cedar Falls HS
1976 Stan Wood University of Northern Iowa
1975 John Fonkert Mason City HS
1974 Elaine McDavitt University of Northern Iowa
1973 Hugh F. Seabury University of Io


ICA Award Winners

Outstanding New Teacher      Outstanding Adjunct Teacher Award

Citation Award      Alumni Award

Frank George Westphal Award

ICA History | ICA Constitution | Officers | Awards | Conferences | Journal | Membership | Newsletters